Rumours, preconceived notions, clichés, superstitions, urban legend: What is real? What is fake?
Is it true that Zanzibar voted for Issa Hayatou during the CAF election?

Is it true that Zanzibar voted for Issa Hayatou during the CAF election?

Paru le mardi, 21 mars 2017 13:54

A list reveals the countries who voted or not for the Cameroonian. Is it credible?

After Issa Hayatou’s fall from the position of Head of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) this past 16 March 2017, everybody has been coming up with their own analysis on the causes and those responsible for his failure against Malagasy Ahmad Ahmad. A list of “who voted for whom”, was been widely shared on social networks. This list is in reality pure speculation, considering that voting is top secret based on CAF’s rules. Additionally, this list has a glaring anomaly.

We can read in it that the Zanzibar Football Federation was among the countries who voted for Issa Hayatou. Which is impossible, because this country actually joined CAF on the election day. Which gives 55 members globally. But on the day of voting, only 54 ballots were registered.

Moreover, highlights a sports journalist, “the meeting requests reach the federations 15 days before the start of the work sessions. New entrant –Zanzibar, as it had not yet register as a member when the invitations were issued, could not have been allowed to vote”.

Whatever may be the case, what we must remember is that the man who managed African football for 29 years conceded with 20 votes against 34 for his challenger.


The fake list

Those who voted for Cameroonian Issa HAYATOU

Anjorin Moucharafou  image001  Benin.

Sidiki A Roko  image003  Cameroon

Victor Osorio image005   Cape Verde

Andres-Jorge Mbomio  004    Equatorial Guinea

Pierre Alain Mounguengui  004   Gabon

Lamin Kaba Bajo 004  Gambia

Mohamed Souare 004  Guinea

Augustino South Sudan

Manuel Lopes Nascimento  004  Guinea Bissau

Jafaar  004  Libya

Vincent Nzamwita 004   Rwanda

Ravia Idarus Fahinda (Zanzibar)

Jamal Malinzi  004   Tanzania

Mohamed Raouraoua  004  Algeria

Reverien Ndikuriyo 004  Burundi

Kossi Akpovy  004   Togo

Tourqui Salim   Comores

Abdiqani Said Arab   004  Somalia

Mutasim Gafaar Sirelkhatim  004   Sudan

Artur de Almeida 004   Angola


Those who voted for Malagasy Ahmad AHMAD:

Mclean Letshwiti 004 Botswana

Edouard Ngaissona 004  Central African Republic 

Mahamoud Moctar   004 Chad

Souleiman Hassan Waberi  Djibouti

Jean Michel Mbono  004  Congo

Domingos Monteiro   004 Sao Tome e Principe

Omari Constant Selemani  004  DRC

Augustin Sidy Diallo  004  Côte d’Ivoire

Boubacar Diarra  004 Mali

Hany Abo Rida 004  Egypt

Elvis Chetty  004  Seychelles

Juneidi Tilmo  004  Ethiopia

Kwesi Nyantakyi  004  Ghana

Salemane Phafane  004  Lesotho

Ahmad Ahmad  004  Madagascar

Walter Nyamilandu  004  Malawi

Mohamed Ally Samir Sobha 004   Maurice

Fouzi Lekjaa  004  Morocco

Alberto Junior 004  Mozambique

Frans Mbidi 004   Namibia

Melvin Amaju Pinnick 004   Nigeria

Isha Johansen  004  Sierra Leone

Sita Sangare 004   Burkina Faso

Danny Jordaan 004   South Africa

Adam Mthethwa  004  Swaziland

Musa Bility  004  Liberia

Wadie Jary  004  Tunisia

Moses Magogo  004  Uganda.

Andrew Kamanga  004  Zambia

Phillip Chiyangwa  004  Zimbabwe

Ahmed Yahya  004  Mauritania

Augustin Senghor  004  Senegal

Hima Hamidou Djibrilla 004   Niger

Dernière modification le mardi, 21 mars 2017 14:21

● Fact Cheking