Rumeurs, idées reçues, clichés, superstitions, légende : qui dit vrai ? qui dit faux ?
Cameroon grabbed 3 special awards at the Fespaco 2023

Cameroon grabbed 3 special awards at the Fespaco 2023

Paru le mardi, 07 mars 2023 12:10

Cameroon won 3 special awards during the pan-African film festival Fespaco 2023 in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso. 

Cyrielle Raingou won the Paul Robeson Prize for her feature documentary "Le Spectre de Boko Haram" in the "Perspectives" category. This prize is endowed with CFA2 million. In her documentary, which also won the Golden Tiger award of the Rotterdam Festival (Netherlands), the Cameroonian director presents a child's-eye view of the impacts Boko Haram has on the lives of the populations in the Far North region.

The Ecobank Sembène Ousmane Prize and the Plan International prize, each worth CFA5 million, were awarded to "The Planters Plantation" by Eystein Young Dingha. The feature film by the young director, the best film at the last Écrans noirs, was nominated for the top Fespaco award the Golden Stallion of Yennenga. The award finally went to Tunisian Youssef Chebbi for his film "Ashkal".

In 2021, Cameroon won zero awards during the festival. However, for the last five editions, the country has had at least one candidate in the race for the Golden Stallion of Yennenga. The only award of its kind won by Cameroon so far dates back to 1976 with "Muna Moto" (Child of Another, in Duala language), a famous film by Jean-Pierre Dikongue Pipa.


● Fact Cheking



Please publish modules in offcanvas position.