Rumours, preconceived notions, clichés, superstitions, urban legend: What is real? What is fake?
Feb 9 Legislative elections : National assembly renewed at 57%

Feb 9 Legislative elections : National assembly renewed at 57%

Paru le mardi, 03 mars 2020 16:13

95 of the elected deputies are new and 72 deputies of the 9th term kept their seats

For the 10th parliamentary term (2020-2025), eight political parties will be represented in the National Assembly. The Constitutional Council pronounced its verdict concerning the February 9 legislative elections during a public hearing presided by its president Clément Atangana.

The results concern 167 seats, pending the results of the 11 constituencies in the English-speaking zone (13 seats) where the vote will be reorganized at the request of the Constitutional Council. For the time being, nearly 57% of the parliamentarians have been renewed. For the elected deputies, 95 are new and 72 deputies of the 9th term kept their seats.  

The ruling party Cameroon People's Democratic Movement (CPDM) confirmed its political leadership with 139 seats obtained. It is followed by Bello Bouba Maïgari's National Union for Democracy and Progress (UNDP), which obtained seven seats.

Party for National Reconciliation (PCRN) is among the newcomers to the National Assembly. Its president Cabral Libii, and three of his comrades will now sit in the lower house of the Cameroonian Parliament.

Currently, the Social Democratic Front (SDF) has five seats. This figure could go upwards after the by-elections to be held in the North-West and South-West.

Ndam Njoya’s Democratic Union of Cameroon (UDC) and Issa Tchiroma’s Front pour le Salut national du Cameroun respectively won four and three seats.

Pierre Kouemo's Union of Socialist Movements (UMS) made a breakthrough in the Western region and won two seats in the national representation. Ditto for the Movement for the Defence of the Republic (MDR) of Dakole Daïssala.

The February 9 legislative elections recorded a participation rate of 43.79%. 3,021,947 voters out of the 6,900,928 registered by Elections Cameroon voted. For Clément Atangana, President of the Constitutional Council, "this election was free, transparent and credible. In short, regular, despite moderate participation.”

Currently, only the CPDM has a parliamentary group in the National Assembly. In the opposition, only the Social Democratic Front has a chance to form a parliamentary group. To do so, Ni John Fru's party, which already has 5 MPs, must win at least five of the 13 MP seats at stake in the by-elections.


Dernière modification le mardi, 03 mars 2020 16:14

● Fact Cheking



Send us your rumour to be verified by our journalists